模拟城市中文网

找回密码
 入住
搜索
查看: 6659|回复: 12

[新闻] 官网博客:SC如何靠道路成功

关闭 [复制链接]
发表于 2012-11-28 20:13 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Hey everyone! My name is Chris Schmidt and I am a Tuning Designer here at Maxis. I work closely with the Scripting and QA teams to refine and improve SimCity by tweaking the gameplay and smoothing out the rough edges as we implement new systems. Additionally, I adjust the game balance in response to feedback, observation, and telemetry to try and maintain a good pace and feel to the experience as it comes to life.
Today I am here to talk about roads, zones, and density. In the past, SimCitySimCity, we have ditched the grid in favor of our new agent-based system powered by the GlassBox Engine that allows us to take a more “ground up,” road-centric approach.
To better get acquainted with how this works, let me first explain how roads affect density. With the new road-centric approach, players can get the same functionality they used to get by zoning by density, but instead of using different zone densities, we limit density by road type. Zones and player-placed buildings can only be created on this existing infrastructure, since our new agent system uses the roads to bring power, water, sewage, and the agents themselves to and from your buildings.
As for the roads themselves, we have two size categories of road, each of which has their own upgrade path. We have the small roads (which can start out as dirt roads and move on up through four-lane roads with traffic lights), and we have the large roads (which start out with boulevards and can be upgraded up to avenues with streetcar tracks like you’d see in real cities like San Francisco). The dirt roads and two-lane roads are limited to the lowest density buildings, and each upgrade thereafter gets you to the next density type, whereas the large roads start out able to support up to mid density buildings, and can be upgraded to support the large high density buildings in one step.